What’s In A Name?

What’s in a name? I’ll tell you what’s in a name…a lot, apparently.

I recently learned what my new last name means and it is unexpected, to say the least. But first, a little back story.

My maiden name was Stitzel and while this doesn’t mean anything, I found out a long time ago while looking at my debit card from the back that my last name spelled backwards was Leztits. Other than being hilarious, there was no meaning behind this revelation, but it began the history of my name revelations.

Now onto my most recent revelation. I went to the pharmacy recently to pick up a prescription and told the gentleman (Gunnar was his name) my last name. While he was searching though the bags on the wall of filled prescriptions he translated my name. Here’s how our conversation went:

 

Gunnar: (after I told him my last name) That’s German.

Me: Yes it is. It’s my married name but I went from one German name to another.

Gunnar: Do you know what it means?

Me: I don’t. Why? Do you know German?

Gunnar: Yes, it means suck.

Me: What?!

Gunnar: Yeah, for example, you would say he was lutsching on a lollipop.

Me: Oh my gosh, that’s not good. So now I’m Amberly Suck?

Gunnar: Didn’t your husband tell you that before you got married?

Me: Ummmm, no, and why would he? He wanted me to marry him so he probably didn’t tell me that for a good reason.

 

So there you have it folks. My new name means suck in German. I still like the name just fine and no one ever would have known had I not broadcast it to the world on my blog but I really don’t care. I quite like the name Lutsch. It is unique enough that not everyone has heard it (much like Stitzel was in my single life) but not so complicated that people are befuddled by it (much like Stitzel was in my single life.)

So I’m interested if anyone else reading this has an interesting (or not so interesting) meaning to their last name…or first name for that matter. I’d love to hear it. Leave a comment below to share.

Au Revoir,

Amberly

8 thoughts on “What’s In A Name?

  1. Haha, just came to this by accident.
    I’m from Belgium and there are a lot of people (my family: almost 65 people) who live nearby Hasselt.
    And yes, my last name sucks! Literally and in real life, mostly it isn’t pronounced or written the right way. 🙂

Leave a Reply

